/ #Awards #bravery 

Ottawa paramedics receive awards for bravery and exemplary service

Ottawa Paramedic Chief Anthony Di Monte, Superintendent Rodney Hamberger and Paramedic Adam Whiteford received the N. H. McNally Award of Bravery today for their actions in response to the tragic shooting at the War Memorial on October 22, 2014.


The N. H. McNally Award of Bravery is presented annually to recognize clear acts of bravery by paramedics in the performance of their duties. This year’s awards were presented at the Ontario Association of Paramedics Chiefs Annual General Meeting and Gala, being held in Windsor, Ontario.


“Last October 22, our city core was in lockdown, and people all over Ottawa and indeed across the country watched and listened as our brave emergency services responded to the tragedy,” said Mayor Jim Watson. “I want to thank our paramedics once again for their key contributions to the response to this terrible act, and to commend our McNally award recipients on behalf of Council and the Ottawa community.”


In addition, the Governor General EMS Exemplary Service Medal was awarded to five members of the Ottawa Paramedic Service – Craig MacInnes, Robert Leduc, Tracy Levesque, David Perras and Sean Cook. These medals are presented annually to paramedics who have served for at least 20 years and performed their duties in an exemplary manner, characterized by the highest standards of good conduct, diligent work and efficiency.


“Our paramedics are an integral part of our city’s emergency response team, and we know we can count on them to carry out their duties with the highest professionalism,” said Community and Protective Services Committee chair Councillor Diane Deans. “They are essential to the City’s work in creating and maintaining a safe and healthy community that promotes and supports quality of life.”


The Ontario Association of Paramedic Chiefs Annual General Meeting and Awards Gala is scheduled to be held in Ottawa in 2017 – Canada’s sesquicentennial year.