/ #City #watson 

Mayor Watson inducts Order of Ottawa recipients and the Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching recipient

Mayor Jim Watson inducted 14 of Ottawa’s most outstanding residents into the Order of Ottawa during a ceremony this evening at Ottawa City Hall.

Those inducted by Mayor Watson into the Order of Ottawa are: Ben Babelowsky, Ron Burke, Guy Cousineau, Bill Malhotra, Paul Meek, Vera Mitchell, Wendy Muckle, Bryan Murray, Alicia S. Natividad, Marion Rattray, The Honourable Allan Rock, Ernest G. Tannis, Simone Thibault, Ewart Walters and Gary Zed.

Mr. Bill Malhotra, one of the 15 recipients selected to receive the award, was unavailable to attend this evening. He will be honoured next year during the 2016 Order of Ottawa ceremony.

“I am honoured to award the 2015 Order of Ottawa to these remarkable individuals in recognition of their outstanding contributions to our city,” said Mayor Watson. “They have not only made Ottawa a better place to live, work and raise a family, they have shown us how one person’s actions can make a difference in the lives of others within our community.”

The Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching was awarded this evening to Mrs. Dasa Lelli. Mrs. Lelli was recognized for founding the Kanata Rhythmic Sportive Gymnastics Club in 1975. As head coach, she has led the not-for-profit organization to become the largest rhythmic gymnastics club in Ontario.

A list of Order of Ottawa inductees will be prominently displayed on a wall on the first floor of City Hall.

This civic award recognizes exceptional citizen contributions in the many areas of city life, including arts and culture, business, community service, education, public service, labour, communications and media, science, medicine, sports and entertainment, or other fields of endeavour that benefit the residents of Ottawa.

Recipients of the Order of Ottawa were chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of the Mayor, City Clerk and Solicitor, Chief of Police, Chief of Protocol, City Archivist and the Chief Executive Officer, Library Services.

For more information regarding the Order of Ottawa and the full biographies of the recipients, visit ottawa.ca.