/ #news 

Local writers recognized at 2020 Ottawa Book Awards

Three local writers were honoured with the prestigious Ottawa Book Awards at a recent virtual ceremony, hosted by Mayor Jim Watson. Each were awarded a prize of $7,500.

Henry Beissel received the Ottawa Book Award in the English fiction category for his collection of poems Footprints of Dark Energy (Guernica Editions Inc.). Beverley McLachlin, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, received the prize for English non-fiction for her work Truth Be Told: My Journey Through Life and the Law (Simon & Schuster Canada).

The Prix du livre d’Ottawa award for French fiction went to Véronique Sylvain for her book of poetry Premier quart (Éditions Prise de parole).

Arc Poetry Magazine presented Ben Ladouceur with the 2020 Archibald Lampman Award for his book Mad Long Emotion (Coach House Books) as the year’s best work of poetry.

The Association des auteures et auteurs de l’Ontario français presented the Prix AAOF de littérature jeunesse 2020 to Mireille Messier for her book, Trésor (Orca Book Publishers). 

Winning books were selected by a jury of peers. More information about the Ottawa Book Awards, including jury statements and author biographies, is available at ottawa.ca.

For more information on City programs and services, visit ottawa.ca or call 3-1-1 (TTY: 613-580-2401). You can also connect with us through Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.