City celebrates the best in urban design


Ottawa’s hottest urban designs were in the spotlight tonight as the City hosted the sixth edition of the Ottawa Urban Design Awards.


Mayor Jim Watson and Councillor Jan Harder, Chair of the City’s Planning Committee, were on hand to honour recipients in a ceremony at Lansdowne Park’s historic Horticulture Building. Focusing on exceptional projects built between September 1, 2013 and September 1, 2015, the awards recognized the work of designers, planners, architects, engineers, developers, builders, students and artists.


“An investment in urban design is an investment in our city,” said Mayor Watson. “Recognizing the value of good design through these awards helps inspire designers to continue to put forward their most creative ideas, and with that vision, we continue to work together to build the best possible Ottawa.”


A jury of four independent experts assessed submissions in five categories, bestowing an Award of Excellence in each. In addition, the jury selected projects in each category to receive an Award of Merit.


The five categories are:

  • Urban Infill (low-rise and mid to high-rise), which looks at efforts to introduce quality built spaces into established neighbourhoods in ways that respect the community
  • Public Places and Civic Spaces, which considers design that creates and enhances special areas in the public realm
  • Urban Elements, focused on design elements that bring uniqueness to a neighbourhood
  • Visions and Master Plans, a forward-looking category concerned with inspiring ideas and guiding plans for the future
  • Student Projects, which recognizes theoretical or studio projects submitted by local university students


Projects that received an Award of Excellence will represent Ottawa in competition for the 2016 Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s Urban Design Awards program.


“While these awards are held only once every two years,  the incredible value that strong urban design offers the people of Ottawa is realized every day,” said Councillor Jan Harder, Chair of the City’s Planning Committee. “It affects the beauty and livability of our capital city.”


Here is the list of recipients of the Award of Excellence and the Award of Merit for 2015:


Award of Excellence – Urban Infill (low-rise)

Sir John A. Macdonald Building

  • David Clusiau, NORR Limited
  • Mark Thompson Brandt, MTBA Associates Inc.
  • John Cooke, Grazyna Materna, Jonathan Dee, John G.Cooke and Associates Ltd.
  • Public Works and Government Services Canada: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Merit – Urban Infill (low-rise)

Springfield Towns

  • Andrew Reeves, Jennifer Janzen, LineBox Studio Inc.
  • The Lake Partnership Inc., Builder
  • ModBox Developments: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Merit – Urban Infill (mid- to high-rise)
James Michael Flaherty Building

  • David McRobie, James Salem; David S. McRobie Architects Inc
  • Martin Sparrow, Gerry Doering, DIALOG
  • James Lennox, James B. Lennox Landscape Architects
  • The Great West Life Assurance Company, Public Works and Government Services Canada: Project Developer/Owner


Award of Merit – Urban Infill (mid- to high-rise)
The Vibe

  • Barry J. Hobin, Doug Brooks, Marc Thivierge, Doug van den Ham, Jeff Chaput, Barry J. Hobin and Associates Architects Inc.
  • Carmen Dragomir, Cassandra Richardson, esQape design inc.
  • Mike Allen, Adjeleian Allen Rubeli Ltd.
  • André Drouin, Josephine Jordan, Smith + Andersen
  • Doublespace Photography
  • Minto Communities: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Excellence – Public Places and Civic Spaces

Art of Rock Balance Sculpture

  • John Felice Ceprano, artist
  • Isabelle Hughes, Michael Muir – National Capital Commission
  • Angelo Filoso, Italian Canadian Community Centre of the National Capital Region
  • Ottawa Rock Art Inc.: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Merit – Public Places and Civic Spaces

Winston Square

  • Kaja Cerveny, Kelly Wojnarski; Douglas and Ruhland Landscape Architects Ltd.
  • Rick Cunliffe, Cunliffe and Associates
  • Guy-Olivier Mauzeroll, R.J. McKee Engineering Ltd.
  • City of Ottawa: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Excellence – Urban Elements
Blanding’s Turtles of the South March Highlands

  • Christopher Griffin, Christopher Griffin Art Studio Inc.
  • Emmanuelle van Rutten, Moriyama and Teshima Architects
  • Bill Riseborough – Constructive Behaviour
  • Ottawa Public Library, City of Ottawa: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Merit – Urban Elements
TD Place StadiumThe Veil

  • Robert Fatovic, Yasmeen Bebal, Kevin Hinchey; CannonDesign Ltd.
  • Guillermo Gabrielli; WSP Group
  • David Moses; Moses Structural Engineers
  • André Drouin, Dan Larson; Smith + Andersen Mechanical/Electrical
  • Brock Strapper; BAI, LLC:Audio Visual
  • Philippe Goulet; Pomerleau Inc. – Contractor
  • City of Ottawa, Ottawa Sports and Entertainment Group (OSEG): Project Owner/Developer


Award of Excellence – Visions and Master Plans
Lansdowne Urban Park and Public Realm

  • Jeffrey Staates, Greg Smallenberg, PFS Studio
  • Julian Smith, Julian Smith Architects
  • Larry Morrison, Stantec
  • City of Ottawa: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Merit – Visions and Master Plans
Rideau/Arts Precinct Public Realm Plan

  • David Leinster, The Planning Partnership
  • Ron Clarke, Parsons Corporation
  • Ken Greenberg, Greenberg Consultants
  • City of Ottawa, Cadillac Fairview: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Merit – Visions and Master Plans
University of Ottawa Campus Master Plan

  • George Dark, Eric Turcotte, Tim Smith, Sirous Ghanbarzadeh, Inger Jenset, Julia Cziraky
  • Urban Strategies Inc.
  • Ron Jack, Kate Whitfield; Parsons Corporation
  • Université d’Ottawa | University of Ottawa: Project Owner/Developer


Award of Excellence – Student Project
6 Homes for Canadians

  • Desirae Cronsberry, Carleton University


Award of Merit – Student Project

  • Ema Graci, Thaly Crespin, Luisa Lu Yao Ji, Lee-Michael J.Pronko, Carleton University

OttawaStart Staff


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stay in the know!

Stay in the know!

Subscribe to the email digest for updates on local info & events. We promise to respect your time and your inbox!

You have successfully subscribed, thank you!